U16 Premier 1 Football Champions...

U16 Premier 1 Football Champions...

September 29, 2014

Ballincollig 2-13 Carrigaline 1-10
Under 16 Premier 1 Football Championship Final.
Ballincollig were crowned U16 Premier 1 Football champions at a superbly turned out UCC grounds in the Mardyke on Friday last. This was a game of incredible pace and high quality and victory for Ballincollig completed a remarkable run of 5 Premier 1 titles in a row from U12 through to U16. This run, combined with their Feile victory 2 years ago is an incredible achievement and it may be only in the years to come that we fully realise how priveleged we were to be part of perhaps the Club’s most successful underage team to date.

It is a known fact that County titles are rarely easily won and this Final was no different as a very good Carrigaline team made Ballincollig fight for victory. They opened the scoring with their 1st attack but this proved to be the only time they led. Ballincollig settled as Darren Murphy and Eoin Reilly pointed followed by a goal from a penalty by Matthew Whealan. Carrigaline were very dangerous in attack and would have goaled but for a superb save from Shane Hogan. Ballincollig enjoyed a 2 to 4 point lead for most of the half and perhaps should have scored a couple of goals before Robert Bourke billowed the net following a superb move up the field. Half time Ballincollig 2-8 Carrigaline 0-6.

Ballincollig dominated for much of the 2nd half and stretched the lead to 10 points . A combination of great goalkeeping and failure to take their points threw Carrigaline a lifeline and they responded to reduce the lead to 4 points at one stage. It was as close as they got however and Ballincollig stretched the lead to 6 points as the game came to a close. Final score Ballincollig 2-13 Carrigaline 1-10.

Ballincollig had all players performing to a very high level,, while goalkeeper Shane Hogan,both midfielders Eoin Reilly and Jordan Murray and forwards James O’Leary and Robert Bourke were simply outstanding.

The cup was presented to (capt) Kevin Crowley and injured (capt) Gearoid O’ Donoghue by Jim Forbes Chairman of Rebel Og Central region amidst tremendous scenes of jubilation.

Team: Shane Hogan,Karl Spillane,Shane O’Neill,David Courtney,Dara O’Riordan,Kevin Crowley (capt),Mark Walsh,Eoin Reilly,Jordan Murray,Daniel Murphy,Robert Bourke,James O’Leary,Jordan O’Connor,Matthew Whealan,Darren Murphy....Subs: Ben Keohane for Daniel Murphy, Colm Bohane for Jordan O’Connor, James Linehan for James O’Leary.