Minor Hurling County Champions

Minor Hurling County Champions

November 05, 2016

Congratulations to our Minor hurlers, who won the County Premier 2 League Final against Blarney. Ballincollig led 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval and appeared to be in trouble as they had played with the assistance of a very strong breeze. The introduction of fifteen year old Paul Cooney in their attack for the resumption proved to be decisive.

Ballincollig increased their lead when Ben Keohane scored their sixth point but Blarney immediately responded with their 5th minor. A goal from Shane Murphy in the 37th minute had a huge boost and when that major was followed three minutes later by a second this one from the aforementioned Cooney, Ballincollig were well on the road to victory. Blarney with the wind to their back threw everything at them subsequently but the Ballincollig defence where James O’Leary and Ross O’Donovan excelled were equal to the challenge. There was a rock solid effort across the field, as the final whistle time approached and a great season-ending boost to Ballincollig hurling stock, as we won by a 2-10 to 1-7 scoreline.

Robbie Bourke collected the trophy, paying tribute to John Linehan and the selectors for their hard work all season (& for up to 12 years in John's case!)

Scorers: Sean Walsh 0-4 (0-2 f), Paul Cooney 1-1, Ben Keohane 0-3 (0-2 f), Shane Murphy 1-0, Luke Fahy 0-2.

Team: James Lenihan, Ross O’Donovan, James O’Leary, Barry Sorenson, Fintan Denny, Jordan Murray, David Courtney, Karl Walsh, Robbie Bourke, Karl Spillane, Colm Bohane, Luke Fahy, Shane Murphy, Ben Keohane & Sean Walsh.

Subs: Paul Cooney, Shane O’Neill & Jack O’Farrell