Did you know?

1954 Baliincollig Fail To Field Any Adult Team

full story

2015 Junior C Football Champions 2015-10-15 22:48:00

Ballincollig 6-14 Clondrohid 1-8
Junior C Football Championship Final 11/10/15 ( Full Photo Set on Flickr Here )
Ballincollig travelled to Kilmurry for a meeting with Clondrohid on a sunny October Sunday. A good crowd turned out for this final where Collig were bidding for our maiden win. When Eoghan O’Callaghan broke up Clondrohid’s first attack, he set our forwards in motion resulting in a point by Gavin O’Callaghan after 30 seconds. However, Clon got a toe hold in the match and soon lead 0-2 0-1. Good approach work by Shane Hogan and Matthew Whelan found Gavin who was fouled for a pointed free by Darren Murphy in the 7th minute.

At the end of a surging run by Darren, he passed to Dan Barry to tap over a point. Clon scored their 3rd free to tie the scores after 13 mins. Soon after Gavin won a free which he took himself and while his effort dropped short, Dan Barry was in the right place to finish to the net. Our defence were getting to grips with the Clon threat and good interplay between Shane O’Neill and Oliver Ryan released Colm Bohane for a long solo run which he ended with a fisted point.
On 24 mins, an interception by Shane O’Neill set up an attack where Gavin and Darren showed slick passing before a cool finish to the net by Darren. The momentum was with Collig now and a point effort from distance by Eoin Byrne went over the unfortunate Clon keeper’s head to the net and we were up 3-4 0-3.

All credit to Clondrohid for showing their football ability by getting 4 points from play to get back into the game. A free by Gavin after Matthew was fouled saw the half time score read Ballincollig 3-5 Clondrohid 0-7.

Ballincollig put up a strong show in the 2nd half where our work rate was highlighted early when Matthew won possession and released Gavin who found Darren in position to score a point.
In the 39th min, Eoin Byrne dispossessed Clon and set an attack in motion involving Matthew and Darren before Dan found the net from close range.

Points followed from Gavin, Shane Hogan and Matthew. The latter points were both from distance. A strong solo run from Darren in the 47th min saw him fouled for a penalty. Darren made no mistake when hitting the net and we were ahead 5-9 to 0-7.

The subs bench was being emptied during the 2nd half and all made a contribution. Points flowed from Eoin Byrne (2), Darren (2) and the alert Brian O’Riordan. Matthew got on the end of a good move to score our 6th goal.

Collig had an assured performance in goal from David McCarthy and forceful defending from Eoghan and Shane in the full back line, with Colin O’Donovan and Oliver Ryan working hard as cover. Shane Hogan and Colm were always willing to drive forward. James O’Leary’s energetic midfield performance was central to our sustained attacks.

The policy of blending youth and experience was a success on field and integrating younger players at an early stage into adult teams bodes well for future. Manager Kevin Bohane deserves credit for our 1st title in our 18th attempt to win this competition. Kevin was ably supported by selectors Paddy Lucey, Jer Bohane and John Connaughton.

Final Score Ballincollig 6-14 Clondrohid 1-8
Line Up: David McCarthy; Eoghan O’Callaghan, Shane O’Neill; Colin O’Donovan, Oliver Ryan, Colm Bohane (0-1); Shane Hogan (0-1), James O’Leary; Eoin Byrne (1-2), Dan Barry (2-1), Darren Murphy (2-4, 1-1 f); Gavin O’Callaghan (0-3, 1 f), Matthew Whelan (1-1).
Subs Eoin O’Neill, Brian O’Riordan (0-1), Padraig O’Donovan, Kevin Bohane, Fergal Considine, Michael O’Donovan, Noel Cronin, Sean McCarthy, Patrick Lucey.

Report Courtesy Of John Connaughton

Player Profile

Finbarr Kelly