Did you know?

1886 Ballincollig one of the frst to join Cork County Board

full story

Ballincollig capture the Lena Down Junior B title 2016-06-16 09:42:00

The Ballincollig junior B squad won the Lena Down Memorial Tournament as part of the Belle of Ballincollig festival.

The five-team competition also featured Bishopstown, Kilmacabea, holders Beál Átha'n Ghaorthaidh, and Kanturk, and was organised by James O'Reilly in conjunction with Eamonn Twohig and Con Burke, while Paul Desmond and John Kelliher were on hand to referee. 
All the sides played each other in a round robin series with Ballincollig and Kilmac reaching the final, where the Collig reversed their loss in the group stage. 

James O'Reilly doubled up as a super keeper, with no-nonsense full-back Éamonn Murphy captaining the side.

Junior C manager Kevin Bohane pounced for the key goal in the victory which knocked out Beál Átha'n Ghaorthaidh, with Podsie O'Donovan hitting the winning point against Bishopstown. Ollie Ryan and Kieran O'Toole were models of consistency throughout, with Richie O'Regan, Ian Roche, James Murphy, Rob Walsh and Gavin O'Callaghan making big plays.
Well done to everyone involved in running the event, with festival chairman Richie Hickey and club sponsor Barry Down presenting the prizes after. Congrats to the junior Bs for lifting the cup for the first time since the competition was set up by James O'Reilly back in 2008, with championship coming up shortly against Donoughmore.

BALLINCOLLIG: James O'Reilly, Éamonn Murphy (c), Noel Cronin, Michael O'Donovan, Ollie Ryan, Donie Hannigan, Kieran O'Toole, John Connaughton, Richie O'Regan, Rob Walsh, Ian Roche, James 'Smurf' Murphy, Cliff Browne, Donough Ruane, Gavin O'Callaghan, Kevin Bohane, Podsie O'Donovan.

Manager: Paul Desmond.

Player Profile

Noel Galvin